Reviews


Hacked by Hadi - From india

hacked by hadi

Wed, 30 Jan 2019



Don - From Louisville, KY USA

Our host, Alexander, proved to be a wonderful part of our experience. Not only did he create a wonderful retreat in the middle of Chilterns which was decorated beautifully, he gave us two different tours of the surrounding country side with all of it's amazing villages! We enjoyed the spectacular views he shared with our family and his friendship that we invited him to join us for dinner one evening. You won't go wrong if you book this historic place!

Sun, 21 Jun 2015



Sherilyn - From Singapore

We had a fantastic experience at the old barn. Alexander is a most generous and gracious host. On arrival he not only had a cream tea ready but also personally drove us around the whole surrounding area for an hour and gave us a guided tour of its history (and great food recommendations!). Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the beautiful surrounding countryside; will definitely love to stay here again should we make another trip to oxford or ipsden!

Mon, 01 Jun 2015



Tiffany - From Salt Lake City, UT

Alexander and David are the BEST hosts you can ask for. We are traveling with 4 kids, 7,6,4,2, and Alexander was incredibly accommodating to the extent they went out and bought us a crib. Who does that? The White Barn is far from that. Alexander and David have done an incredible job decorating the space. The natural light was perfect, the beds were perfect and the feelings inside were the crowning touch. With the way they have finished the space it still felt large with 6 people. The area The White Barn is located is a perfect setting for a relaxing stay outside of London. Alexander took us on a "local" tour which was incredible. We walked through the meadows, climbed up and watched the Thames, and truly feel a longing now that we are in Morocco to be able to go back and relax. We are planning to come back and stay with them again. We are also telling all of our friends about Alexander and The White Barn. Thank you. This is a must stay.

Fri, 01 May 2015



Elina - From London, United Kingdom

Our stay at Alexander's fabulous cottage was post-card perfect! Without knowing we had chosen the best time to visit the lovely Chilterns - golden rapseed fields, bluebell filled forests and spring in the air! It did indeed feel like English Tuscany!

Alexander made us feel really welcome and not only we were greeted with a cream tea, but also offered a ride around the area to see the best the area has to offer.

The Barn has everything you may wish for a perfect break away - from fully equipped kitchens, super comfy beds, amazing bathrooms and lots of tips & ideas what to do around the area.

Would definitely want to come back and highly recommend the barn to anyone who's looking for a romantic getaway in the lovely Chilterns!

Fri, 01 May 2015



Freddie - From Nottingham, United Kingdom

The barn was really lovely - it was homely, comfortable, and had everything we could have needed. Alexander was very helpful, left is a cream tea and even took us on a guided tour. Thank you very much

Fri, 01 May 2015



Ruth - From Edmonton, Canada

Alexander, 
Interesting,kind,generous of his time sharing knowledge of the area on local history,movies made locally like chitiychitybang bang ,the Murdoch mysteries vicar of Dudley etc and the local personalities.Supplied a welcoming bouquet of flowers a sampling of locally produced organic products.. 
The apartment is small but has two comfortable bedrooms with ensuites,complete with sets of fluffy towels and soaps. The decor is special and welcoming. We enjoyed the total atmosphere.

Fri, 01 May 2015



LC and ST - From Vancouver

Fantastic stay! The short review -- the barn is even nicer than pictured, the area is stunning, the location convenient and central, the layout of the bedrooms (each with full ensuite) was ideal , the amenities all you could hope for and Alexander was simply the best host!!

Now for the details: Alexander is the best! He has a passion for, and extensive knowledge of, the area and his enthusiasm for the region is infectious. There is great care taken of the property and both David and Alexander took great care of us -- we felt the entire time that us enjoying our stay was a top priority for both of them! We were travelling without a car so his offer to pick us up from the train, drive us for supplies and show us a few sights was not only amazingly helpful, but truly blew our minds because it is so far above and beyond what one expects from a holiday rental (and I have stayed in dozens and dozens!).

As an interior designer, Alexander has taken great care in the finishings and it really shows. The barn is gorgeously furnished, quiet, well stocked and, because it is separate from the main house, is very private. It was the extras though that really impressed us!! The lovely baths (each bedroom has its own) with loads of hot water, the organic bedding, super comfy beds, and high quality pillows were all divine! It was seriously one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The basic supplies for breakfast (as well as the extras for a proper cream tea!) were very much appreciated and a really lovely touch.

For anyone travelling without a car, the barn is ideal! Lovely walking paths along the Thames or into the forest; an efficient bus service; pubs, restaurants and stores close by (we walked to Wallingford along beautiful paths to get some supplies); and a host so kind that he is willing to pick you up from the rail station: we could not have asked for more!

A final note about the area if you are not familiar with it -- we were coming from the Cotswolds, which is pretty hard to beat for natural beauty, and were simply blown away by the gorgeousness and history of the area. Not only are there stunning views, quaint villages with lovely pubs, castle remains, medieval abbeys, iron age ruins, but there is also Toad Hall (Wind in the Willows)!!

All in all a perfect stay! I highly recommend it!

Fri, 01 May 2015



Barbara S

We had a fantastic stay last weekend, owners were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. The Barn itself was enchanting, cosy and relaxing. Very well equipped with all that we needed, the fresh bread and cream teas were a lovely touch. The beds were massive with immaculate on-suites, fresh towels, organic toiletries, we couldn't have asked for more. Very kindly, the owners let our labrador Stanley stay, he had a fantastic time exploring the local country side, got very muddy! Thank you very much for the delightful accommodation. Barbara, Jon and Stanley.

Wed, 01 Apr 2015



ruth r

This really is the most idyllic place you could wish to stay. There has clearly been a lot of effort and care put into the design and decor of the place. Three of us stayed here and the beds were comfy and there was a lovely spacious en-suite to each bedroom. Plenty of hot water too.

The owners couldn't have been more helpful, they gave us advice on nice places to eat and even left bread, butter, biscuits and milk in addition to the teas and coffees so we could relax and unwind as soon as we arrived.

Would highly recommend the local pub and also the short journey into Wallingford to eat.

Mon, 25 Aug 2014



Ellie K.

This property is perfect for a family or romantic get away. Take a country walk, ride the local horses, visit Oxford or just sit at a local pub and watch the sheep graze. Very relaxing trip.

Tue, 12 Aug 2014



una q

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in 'The Old Barn' - beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and fabulous views. Property very well equipped and stocked with everything one could possibly need for a break away including all cupboard essentials and fresh bread,milk and butter.Owners were very helpful and friendly- welcoming touches like fresh flowers and gifts of chocolates and biscuits were much appreciated.Located in lovely countryside with nearby villages and train service to London. Car essential.

Thu, 07 Aug 2014



Yet

Alexander (and David) was very welcoming and accommodating. As a self-catering novice, I had assumed that I could just state the check-in time not knowing that the standard check-in time was 4.30pm. Alex made sure that we were able to check-in earlier and had laid out all the essentials we need (tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, bread, scones, cream and jams etc.).

My friend commented to Alexander that she saw another review on Airbnb that there was whiskey marmalade and she was looking to trying this. When we got there we saw that another type of marmalade was provided but Alexander then went out and specifically bought the one she wanted to try!

Alexander, knowing that we did not know the area, then took us by car to the surrounding villages/area and suggested walks and places to eat.

The converted Barn House was extremely comfortable and prettily decorated. Both rooms were nearly identical so there were no fighting for the better room and the en-suites made it easy for us. The beds and pillows were very comfy!

We actually stayed in both nights we were there and cooked dinner rather than eat out and we had all the utensils and equipment in the kitchen to cook up the meals.

The surrounding area is so beautiful and it did look like the Tuscan landscape. We took a very nice walk whilst we were there (10 miles!) to Goring and passed some very pretty villages and visited a few pubs along the way that were very welcoming and dog friendly.

Thanks again Alexander for being such a helpful and warm host and I would definitely consider coming back again for another visit!

Mon, 30 Nov -0001



Eugene

We had an exceptional time staying at Alexander's barn. The barn had a really cosy feel and was nicer than the photos made it out to be. Alexander was incredibly helpful with suggestions for walks and helping us get acquainted with the surrounding area, and went out of his way to help us feel at home with the groceries provided.

Mon, 30 Nov -0001



Freddie

Andrew was a fantastic host, the barn is so wonderful that we didn't want to leave! He is an interior designer, and has truly created a home away from home with it. There is oak everywhere, the beds are incredibly comfy, and there are two baths!! There was a cream tea on arrival, and he took the time to really make sure that we knew all the nice pubs, villages, and walking routes that surrounded us. A truly wonderful taste of rural Britain!

Mon, 30 Nov -0001



Sarah

Lovely converted barn in beautiful countryside. Very cosy with good bathrooms and comfortable beds! The kitchen is well equipped and we were kindly greeted with supplies for tea/coffee and scones which was a nice touch. The surrounding area is great for long walks and the local pub mixed a good atmosphere with tasty food

Mon, 30 Nov -0001



Nathan

Wonderful welocme, with all the comforts of home and some delicious treats waiitng for us

Mon, 30 Nov -0001



English Country Barn © 2015 | All Rights Reserved
Mobile Friendly Web Design By: V1 Technologies Ltd
Back To Top